Vegan Brilliant Butternut Batch Cooking: Stuffed Squash

Technically speaking this is not a batch cooking recipe as I wolfed the squash down as soon as it was cooked. I used half of the squash for this recipe and if Meg liked squash, it would have served two people, instead though it just served me and I enjoyed it. The only bit I did’t enjoy was waiting for the squash to cook but who really does like waiting for food to cook? As always, I kept this recipe to it’s simplest form as was largely experimenting but sometimes it is best to not over complicate things, so in the interest of not over complicating this post, let’s get on with it.

img_0562

Ingredient (serves two):

  • Half a butternut squash (cut length ways, through the middle, not top and bottom!)
  • Rice (goodness knows how much, you all know I’m useless with rice)
  • One handful of mushrooms (as many as you want or don’t want)
  • One tin of tomatoes (I don’t like passaata but it would do)
  • Salt and pepper (obviously)
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (just to balance out the sweetness of the squash)

Method:

  1. Once the squash is cut, scoop out the seeds.
  2. Score the squash in a beautiful crissy crossy type pattern.
  3. Place the squash in the oven and cook for approx. 40 minutes until the squash is soft.
  4. When the squash has been cooking for about 30 minutes cook the rice according to the packet instructions. (Yes I’m copping out!)
  5.  Place the tomatoes in a pan and heat on low.
  6. Slice the mushrooms and place in the pan with the tomatoes.
  7. Once the rice is cooked, drain and stir into the tomatoes.
  8. Add the chilli powder and season.
  9. Once the squash is soft, gently mash the squash and then add the rice over the top.
  10. Serve

Not going to lie, this ended up looking like a giant mess and in all honesty it was a giant mess but it was a tasty giant mess so I guess that make it not so bad! The outer skin went a bit softer than I anticipated and so the squash was falling apart before it got to the plate so it was nearly impossible to photograph! I did however, really enjoy this meal and would do it again. I think next time I will try and be more adventurous with ingredients but as a simple dish, this really did do the job!

One thought on “Vegan Brilliant Butternut Batch Cooking: Stuffed Squash

Leave a Reply

