Vegan Brilliant Butternut Batch Cooking: Squash and Mushroom Curry

As the fate of half the squash had been decided and had been sentenced to be stuffed, I was left with half a squash to make two recipes with. The decision was made easy by two factors: firstly, Meg not liking squash which gave me some freedom and secondly we had more ingredients in the cupboard to make a curry then there was a chill, so curry it was. The fridge also helped me to put this me meal together, as when I opened the fridge, there in the glorious glow of the fridge light sat a pack of mushrooms and no I will not be using my usual mushroom joke here. This is another one of my keep it simple but keep it tasty recipes so let’s do it.

img_0565

Ingredients (one portion):

  • One quarter of a squash
  • One handful of mushrooms
  • One tin of tomatoes
  • One tbsp curry powder
  • Two tsp turmeric
  • Two tsp cumin
  • Two tsp chilli powder

Method:

  1. Start to heat the tomatoes in a pan.
  2. Peel the squash, cut into cubes and then slice the mushrooms.
  3. Add the squash and mushrooms to the tomatoes.
  4. Add the spices and stir through.
  5. Cook on low for about ten minutes, allowing the squash to soften.
  6. After ten minutes, cook on high for two minutes and serve.

Although the squash did soften, I did wonder whether par boiling it first would help with this process or would make the squash go to mush but this is an experiment for a future date. I think that in future I would definitely experiment with different vegetables for a first time attempt, I was very happy with how this turned out and I look forward to delving into the freezer and enjoying this meal properly although I imagine that it will have to wait until Meg is next at work!

One thought on “Vegan Brilliant Butternut Batch Cooking: Squash and Mushroom Curry

Leave a Reply

