His Vs Hers Vegetarian Challenge: Meg’s Spinach and Cream Cheese Cannelloni

As it’s July now and we’ve had a few BBQs in June, Aaron has had a marvellous idea of trying a vegetarian month in the middle of BBQ season. Now as much as I am a lover of meat, I did however agree to give it ago. We’ve started the month off with a challenge in which my dish is first due to our working pattern. However I did manage to rattle my brain and think of  recipe, in fact I have made this dish many times before and not even realised it’s vegetarian (edit: Meg has spent the last few days asking if things are vegetarian… is this carrot vegetarian, yes, is this slab of meat vegetarian, no!!). This recipe is also Slimming World friendly as it was one of my go to’s if I couldn’t magic something up for dinner. I think that’s enough of me rambling, this no meat thing is already making me loopy, but don’t worry I’m determined to finish the vegetarian month. Keep on reading for the recipe.

Ingredients (for 2 servings)

  • 8 cannelloni tube
  • Carton of pasatta
  • 1 tbs of tomato puree
  • 1 tbs of dried basil
  • 1 tsp of garlic granules
  • 1 tsp of sweetener
  • Pinch of salt and pepper
  • 200g lightest Philadelphia (or soft cream cheese, full fat can be used)
  • half a bag of a of spinach
  • 1 ball of mozzarella (optional)

Method

  1. In a sauce pan add the pasatta and tomato puree and bring to a simmer.
  2. Add the garlic and the basil and carry on simmeringIMG_0325
  3. Add the sweetener, salt and pepper, adding more to suit you taste.
  4. Let the sauce simmer on a low heat whilst preparing.
  5. In a mixing bowl, mix together the spinach and cream cheese together (use small handfuls of spinach at a time to mix in)
  6. Now to stuff the tubes, spoon the spinach and cheese mixture into the tube, poking it down as you go (I find the end of a spoon is best to poke the mixture down)IMG_0324
  7. Once all 8 tubes are filled, lay them out in a baking dish and cover with the sauce.
  8. Rip up the mozzarella ball and scatter on top of the finished cannelloni
  9. Place in the oven, on 180 degrees, for 30 – 40 minutes.

IMG_0331

I would recommend keeping an eye on it in the oven as the pair of us were truly glued to the TV watching Love Island, This will explain the slight over done colour on top. If you are wanting a healthier version then leaving the mozzarella out will help cut out some calories. Overall I’m quite proud of myself that I managed to successfully (well almost) find a vegetarian dish and it not be a salad! I’m sure when Aaron cooks a vegetarian dish it’ll be something weird and wacky, but to me you can’t beat a good old classic dish, even when it is a little over done. So keep an eye out for Aaron’s vegetarian challenge dish and we’ll see whose is best! Until then happy cannelonni-ing. (That almost works)

2 thoughts on “His Vs Hers Vegetarian Challenge: Meg’s Spinach and Cream Cheese Cannelloni

Leave a Reply

