Burger Lasagne

Picture the scene, Meg and I are sat in the lounge together lovingly looking into our phones, deep within the realms of social media. Out of nowhere comes a laugh, it’s mine. I’ve just seen a post from someone wanting to use up some burgers and wanting to make a burger bake. ‘A burger bake’ I mock, ‘what you going to do? Make some sort of burger lasagne?’. I look up, Meg’s face alight from the glow of her phone like an angel in a low budget film. I’ll never forget the look she gave me, the same look she gave me on our first date when I stepped up to bowl first and got a strike, the look of pure admiration! I knew in that moment, as I knew way back then, that I was on the verge of something brilliant and thus burger lasagne was created.

In a flash we scrambled to the kitchen, flung open the freezer door and hidden behind that mist stuff when you open a freezer door (that probably isn’t there but looks dramatic in my head) was a pack of burgers, cold and forgotten about, the kind you may see on a ‘these burgers dreamed of going onto the barbecue and now they’ve been forgotten and abandoned, can you please give these burgers a home’ type adverts. This recipe has it all, burgers, chilli sauce, mustard, fried onions, lasagne sheets, white sauce and cheese, oh so much cheese!! Don’t just take our word for it though, see yourself!

IMG_0191

Ingredients:

  • 12 burgers
  • 1 large onion
  • 6 sheets lasagne
  • 50g Cheese (grated) for the top (On on ours it was more like 50kg)

For the tomato sauce:

  • 1 carton of passata
  • 1 tsp garlic granules
  • 2 tsp of dried basil
  • 1 beef stock cube (with 150ml water)
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp chilli powder

For the white sauce

  • 50g flour
  • 50g butter
  • 500ml milk
  • 100g of cheese (or the whole block like us)
  • 1 heaped tsp wholegrain mustard

Method

  1. Firstly, make the tomato sauce by adding the passata and stock to a pan and bringing it to the boil.IMG_0182
  2. Add the basil, garlic, chilli and the sugar, adding more sugar if you need too so it suits your taste buds, as the passata can be quite bitter
  3. Let the sauce simmer on a low heat for 15 minutes, whilst you make the white sauce.
  4. As I (Meg) was the one who cooked this we’ll go for a shove it all in the pan method.IMG_0181
  5. So add the flour, butter and milk into a saucepan on a medium heat.
  6. Stir like crazy constantly and when the sauce is thickened add the cheese and mustard and take off the heat.
  7. Dice the onion and fry in a bit of oil until soft and slightly brown.
  8. Now for the assembly, using a casserole dish (we used a pyrex one) place 6 burgers along the bottom of the dish.
  9. Place a spoonful of onions on top of each burger.IMG_0247
  10. Pour half of the tomato sauce over the top, ensuring that the burgers are covered.
  11. Place lasagne sheets on top of the burgers, we covered two burgers with one sheet.
  12. Use half the white sauce to cover the lasagne sheets.
  13. Repeat steps 8-12 on top of this layer and then grate the cheese over the top.
  14. Bake in the oven on 180 for 45 minutes and serve!

IMG_0184

Trust us, this recipe will change your life as it did for Meg and I. I feel like I need to make a full and public apology to the person I mocked for suggesting a burger bake and I just hope that every time I mock an idea, we are able to create a meal that was as tasty as this! We have huge plans for the blog over the next couple of months, starting next month where we will be focusing on vegan food, once I’ve convinced Meg that is!! Until then though, happy lasagning!!

I (Aaron) would like to dedicate this post to my dad who passed away three years ago today. He cooked some weird and wonderful things over the years also but would always ensure that there was garlic, salt and pepper in absolutely everything and lots of it! You’re missed always.

2 thoughts on “Burger Lasagne

Leave a Reply

