Slow Cooker Dinners: Honey (and Garlic) I Shrunk The Chicken

I’m not sure how long it’s going to be before I stop laughing at the title of this post and Meg will be able to vouch that I do laugh at all my jokes, most of which are really not funny. Back to the chicken, if I’m honest, we will have to have this meal again. The concept behind it worked well although there was a slight issue with execution, partly down to the fact that we are pretty new to the slow cooker world but largely due to the fact that I keep making it into the kitchen unsupervised. The chicken was beautiful, however and whilst the potatoes didn’t work, I have since experimented with them and know where I went wrong. Let’s do it.

20170520_150303.jpg

Ingredients (for three people):

  • Three chicken breasts (ours shrunk quite a bit so consider doing double this)
  • 170g honey (I used half of a bottle I had, you only need enough to cover the chicken)
  • Splash soy sauce
  • Squirt of ketchup
  • Two cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (optional)
  • Pepper to taste

For the potatoes:

  • Baby potatoes
  • Knob of butter
  • One clove of garlic (crushed)
  • Sprinkle of oil
  • Salt to taste

Method:

  1. Place honey, soy sauce, ketchup, garlic, chilli powder and pepper into a bowl and stir.
  2. Place the kitchen breasts into the bowl and fully cover.
  3. Place the breasts onto foil, pour on any of the remaining honey mixture and wrap.
  4. Place baby potatoes into a pan of boiling water and boil for ten minutes.
  5. Drain and then place onto foil.
  6. Sprinkle over the oil, add salt, butter and the garlic and wrap.
  7. Place both parcels into the bottom of the slow cooker and add enough water to cover the bottom of the dish.
  8. Cook on low for 6 hours.

20170520_184517.jpg

I will be honest enough to say that on first attempt I put the potatoes in raw and they came out rock hard so boiling first is defiantly the way forward. You don’t even have to do them in the slow cooker, however, the infusion of the garlic and butter intensifies the taste (yeah I can do big words!!). As eluded to, the chicken did shrink considerably and I’m unsure whether this is normal for a slow cooker so will watch out for this in the future. It really is worth giving it a go and I hope that you have better success than I did first time around!!

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Dinners: Honey (and Garlic) I Shrunk The Chicken

Leave a Reply

